Holiday Monday

So I made it back from Sydney, happily well fed and refreshed from seeing my lovely brother, Lilly and Donna.  The kids and James arrived last night weary, sunburnt but content after the excellent camping adventure in Freeman’s Camping Munmorah National Park.  I’m exhausted after trying to clean, shop and partially move into our new room as James parents are coming to stay tomorrow.  I cooked a few staple dishes, in preparation for the crazy after school activities and being late home to cook – Slow cooked belly pork and soy, Osso Bucco and a flourless lemon/orange poppy seed cake (all gluten free for Barb).

Dinner tonight was crumbed snapper, Caesar salad and potatoes roasted in chicken stock.

Orange/Lemon Poppy Seed Cake

1 orange – boiled for 30mins, cut into pieces, seeds removed and pureed in a processor add 3 eggs, 3 cups of almonds, 3/4 cup of caster sugar, 1/4 cup poppy seeds and 1 teaspoon of baking powder.  Puree till combined.  Pour into loaf tin. Cook at 170C for 1 – 1 1/2 hours till cooked.  Make a syrup with lemon juice and caster sugar and pour over the top while cake is still warm.

I tried to go to Vinnie’s today to get some props to help give some variety to my photos but alas since it is run by volunteers it was shut, looking forward to filling the garage with some of my junk !

 

Leave a comment